Circle W Photography and other interests

Lets talk Photography and Guns

Base camp

leave a comment »

My base camp consists of a lot at Desert Paradise Rv park.  The main lodging is a 2006 KZ Sportsman 40′ fifthwheel toy hauler. And my 2008 Ford F-350 king Ranch pickup. I bought the KZ used in 2010 and pulled it around until it finally got to be a hassle to break camp. So I started expanding my toys.  First I bought a 2015 Polaris Ranger ETX for playing in the desert and getting around at shoots.  To pull the ranger I had a 20′ V nose enclosed car trailer custum made with insulation and a generator bayplus added a solar charging system to power the contents.  In January I found a mobile Motorhome for use when I travel. It’s a 2008 Jayco Seneca 35GS.  It’s on a Chevy 5500 chassis with a duramax diesel and Allison tranny.  It has three slides a full length on the drivers side and a shorter one on the curb side plus a bedroom slide on the curb.  Everything went great up til then.  I had pondered the local trans while traveling and figured I would rent a vehicle for running to the grocery store and to eat.  But first trip out things didn’t work out as planned the rental was sky high so it was out so I ended up bumming a few rides across the highway.  So when I returned I started looking for a vehicle that would fit Behind the ranger in the trailer.  Going off specs I had 240 inches of trailer taken up by 110″ of ranger which leaves 130″ left at most I searched vehicle overall length I found only two current production vehicles that fit.  The shortest was a smart car the other was a sion.  I found that some older cj-5s that would fit from the factory but finding one that didn’t have addon numbers and such became very hard,  so I picked up a smart car made in 2008. So that’s what you’ll find at my base camp when I’m home.

Written by circlew

May 7, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

