Circle W Photography and other interests

Lets talk Photography and Guns

My Workflow for Post

leave a comment »

Well I’m running way behind in doing my post processing from SASS’s End Of Trail World ( EOT) Championship Match where I attended under a media pass in exchange for donating the images I shot.

One thing that needs bringing up is that I’m still recovering from a motorcycle accident that broke my left leg up. Check back to March for the details. It took a lot out of me and my stamina isn’t where it should be. I started importing and culling right after the event but decided today to start from scratch. Why has it taken so long? Well after seeing everyone having fun at EOT, I felt I was up to shooting a match the following weekend. That was the first of July. I managed to survive 4 out of the 6 stages. Long story short it took a week before I was able to walk and feel like I was human again.

Now some things to do before culling the images. Setup the Wacom Intuos Tablet for each stage of Culling and editing in Lightroom 4 and Photoshop CS5.
Stage (1). Flagging the images. I set up the top four buttons on the tables to do the following:
Top button – it sends the ‘P’ key to select or pick the image which gives it a white flag.
Second button – it sends the ‘X’ key to reject the image and give it a black flag.
Third button – is setup to advance to the next image or you can use the wheel
Forth button – go back to the previous image or you can use the wheel

Now that we have the Wacom’s functions for Lightroom setup we need to save this info by using the Wacom File utility. I name it stage 1 Lightroom settings.

Next we set it up for stage 2, this is where set the color label. I use the four top buttons and set them up to match keys 6-9 the color labels. I use the following labels, people,animals, sports, and landscapes. Now using the Wacom File Utility to save this setup as Stage 2.

Next we set it up for Rating the images. The top button is used to increase the rating of the image and the second button is used to decrease the rating. Save this as Stage 3.

In Lightroom set it up to auto advance to save time.

Next we insert the CF card in the reader for coping the images from the card. I use several of the presets in the import window to rename the images and convert them to Adobe’s universal format, I also add generic keywords that apply to the images like location and subject. I also add my contact and copyright info to the images at this time. I also make a second copy to a separate drive. This drive is either a external hard drive that later copied or dumped to a network folder or if time allow I save it directly to this network folder.

After importing the images to Lightroom, I copy the CF card to a CD or DVD directly. Then I copy these folders to a network folder on a different drive than Lightroom copied to. So now I have my raw images in five locations the two Lightroom used, the network drive I copied to, the CD OR DVD and the CF card. Once I verify the data in Lightroom, the folder Lightroom used and the folder I copied to I store the CD/DVD I can format the CF Card in the camera.

Now we can get to selecting the images we will work with and deliver to our client.

I go select all the folders for the event by holding down the shift key after selecting the first folder then selecting the last folder it highlight all in between. I load up my settings for Stage 1 on the Wacom. I go through flagging the keepers and rejectings those that are not to standard.

Then we switch to stage 2 for the Wacom and assign color labels for the keepers. This gives use a second look at the images to see if we missed something during stage 1.

We select stage 3 for the Wacom and bump up the ratings on the ones that I’m liking and we go thur the images over a couple of times to rate the images. Once we get to our select images I stack similar images together. Once I’m done with stacking the images I compare each stack bumping the rating until I end up with the best starting image of the group or stack.

The final selects will be the ones I’ll take to the develop module. I’ll go ahead a publish this now and send out updates to it if needed. This is the beginning of my post production workflow. Next time we will cover the Develop Module and any correction additions o the library module.

Leave a Reply

